Club Championships

The Club Championships represent an opportunity for members to test themselves against other members within their age group and across all age groups in three categories - triathlon, duathlon and open water swimming.


2018/19 Club Champions 


Triathlon Short Course 

Male : 1st Michael Pratt 2nd John Allan 3rd Matt Rice

Female : 1st Penny Neville 2nd Sarah Walker 3rd Margery Smith


Triathlon Long Course

Male : 1st Adam Vohmann 2nd Paul Gilbert 3rd Matt Rice

Female : 1st Nicci Warren 2nd Ange Barnett 3rd Vanessa Johnson


Open Water Swimming

Male : 1st John Allen 2nd Nigel Fanning 3rd Marc Hardy

Female : 1st Fran Johnson 2nd Penny Neville 3rd Margery Smith


How It Works

By competing in nominated events you qualify for the Club Championships and could win a share in over $2000 in prizes from our sponsors! However, you must be a financial member at the time of the event for Club Championship points to be awarded.


Your total points for the season are calculated from your best five triathlons, two/three long course triathlons, three duathlons, or three open water swim races respectively, and any bonus points earned.


Specific qualifying conditions exist for each Club Championship and are explained further below.


Generally, points are scored at each race by dividing the winner’s time in your age group by your time. For example, if you finished a sprint triathlon in 58:26 and the winner did 56:10, your points score will be 961 (being 3370 for the winner’s time in seconds and 3506 for your time in seconds x 1000). Also, points scored from smaller series/races may be multiplied by .75 to recognise weaker fields


Club Support

We support the Club Championships by making the club marquee, free massages, food, drinks and other services available at the nominated Club Championship races. At the end of the season, we host a Club Championships event. It’s always a fun occasion and a great chance to let your hair down.


Bonus Points

We encourage you to actively support the club. One easy way to do this is to wear the YarraTri trisuit at Club Championship events, as in doing so you help advertise the club by being a visible ambassador.


To reward your support, during the 2019/2020 Triathlon and 2019 Duathlon seasons, any member racing a Club Championship event in a current YarraTri trisuit will be rewarded a bonus 50 points for the event. How easy is that!


Club Championship - Triathlon races 2019/20

This years YarraTri Triathlon Club Championships will be decided from your best 4 short course races, two of which need to be from the races below
There will be 50 bonus points for racing in a National series race to recognise the stronger fields
17 November 20192XU Elwood
Date TBCSufferfest - Safety Beach
8 December 20192XU Sandrigham
12 January 20202XU St Kilda
2 February 20202XU Elwood
Dae TBC Sufferfest - Mordialloc

Date TBC

Sufferfest - Mt Martha 

15 March 2020

2XU - Location TBC

29 March 2020

 2XU - St Kilda

Date TBC

Western Suburbs triathlon SC

Not yet announced

Challange Melbourne



YarraTri Long Course Triathlon Club Championships

To give more focus to out long course athletes there will now be a separate YarraTri Long Course Championship. You can pick you best results from any Ironman, Challenge or ITU long Course event from 18th April 2017 - 22nd April 2018. A competitors total points will be scored from one ironman (double points) or  two 1/2 Ironman events.

The Long Course Championship runs from April 18th 2018 - April 17th 2019 Your results are calculated from you best IM race (double points) or your best two 1/2 Ironman races. Races must be Ironman, Challenge or ITU branded events. Email us your results at by April 23rd, 2019


Club Championships – Open Water Swim 2018/2019

The 2018/19 YarraTri Open Water Swim Championships will be contested over three races on the Victorian Swim Calendar
The club will be settling up at the following three events
30/12 - Point Lonsdale
2/2 - Port to Park
2/3 Cerberus Swim
Your point score will be determined by your age group result in at least two of these races and one other from the Victorian Swim Calendar
There will be prizes for the first three females and males


Club Championships – Duathlon 2018

The YarraTri Duathlon Club Championships are held each winter and determined by your best three results from;
The National Duathlon series
The Victorian Duathlon Series
The Dirty Duathlon
A minimum of two races must be completed to be eligible for prizes
There are 50 bonus points for racing in club trisuits and 50 bonus points for competing in a national series races